2017 Symposium

June 30: 4-7pm
July 1: 9:30-6:00pm
On the Ithaca College Campus

The ITI Symposium explores creative, publishing and curatorial work by an international roster of artists.  Organized around a series of invited and improvised presentations, readings, and conversations, the Symposium features established and emerging practitioners working at the intersection of writing and photography, both individually and through collaborative practice.

Speakers and Fellows include: Andre Bradley, Catherine Taylor, Claudia Rankine, David Senior, Elana Schlenker, Lisa Pearson, Lucy Ives, Matthew Connors, Nicholas Muellner, Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa and Wayne Koestenbaum.

The Symposium will feature a combination of prepared presentations and work in progress developed earlier that week in a collaborative workshop with current students in the Image Text MFA program.

Registration ($125 / $90 students) includes attendance and lunch on July 1st.

Online registration closes June 20th. Full refund available before this date.

Symposium Schedule

All events, except where noted, will be held in the Auditorium of the Park School of Communications, Ithaca College “Fellow Group” presentations will be collaboratively curated by ITI Fellows and MFA candidates during the 2017 ITI Workshop. All ITI Workshop Fellows will present work during one of the sessions: Matthew Connors, Lucy Ives, Claudia Rankine, Elana Schlenker and Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa.

Friday, June 30th
4:00-5:00       Symposium check-in and reception.

5:00-5:15       Welcoming remarks

5:15-6:00       Opening lecture by Claudia Rankine, writer

6:00-7:00       ITI Fellow Group 1

Saturday, July 1st
9:00-9:30       Coffee available on campus.

9:30-10:00     David Senior, Senior Bibliographer, MoMA

10:10-10:40   Lisa Pearson, Publisher, Siglio Press

10:50-11:40   ITI Fellow Group 2

11:50-12:30   Andre Bradley, Photographer

12:45-1:45     Box lunches provided on campus

1:45-2:35       ITI Fellow Group 3

2:15-3:15       ITI Fellow Group 4

3:25-4:15       Wayne Koestenbaum, Poet, Painter, Cultural Critic

4:25-5:15       ITI Fellow Group 5

6:00-8:00       Closing reception at the Handwerker Gallery on the Ithaca College campus

ITI MFA candidates are: Justin Audet, Matthew Baczewski, Edith Fikes, Marcella Green, Pablo Lerma, Carla Liesching, Jason Lipeles, Melani Lopez, Sebastián Meltz-Collazo, Martha Ormiston, John O’Toole, Nina Perlman, Guy Pettit, John Rufo, Kirslyn Schell-Smith, Nicolina Schonfarber, Janet Solval, Grant Willing